Friday, November 30, 2007

Another One Bites the Dust by Jennifer Rardin

Another One Bites the Dust
Jaz Parks, Book 2
Jennifer Rardin
Orbit Books
December 12, 2007
ISBN# 9-780-316-02057-2

Sent to retrieve experimental body armor, Jaz and Vayl find themselves undercover at the Corpus Christi Winter Festival. Cassandra, Cole and Miles Bergman round out the team as their plans to eliminate Chien-Lung and recover the item take shape. Bergman has more emotional connection in this case than the rest of the team; it’s his armor that’s been stolen.

There’s an added complication, Reavers, who rip away and steal marked souls. Worse still, they may be connected to Edward Samos, the Raptor, who the team continues their hunt for. Lucky for Jaz, her emerging gifts enable her to see their shields and ultimately help in finding a way to stop the murderous creatures long enough for them to finish their assignment.

The bond of sverhamin and avhar grows ever stronger for Vayl and Jaz. Their talents strengthen, and for Vayl his latest change is something to behold.

Another One Bites the Dust is the second installment in the Jaz Parks series. Packed with paranormal beings and high-tech weaponry, Ms. Rardin weaves a marvelous tale filled with tension and non-stop action. The added humor, especially when Cole and Jaz are involved, is too laugh-out-loud funny to resist. The ‘welcome mat’ just did me in laughing.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Thursday, November 29, 2007

The Down Home Zombie Blues by Linnea Sinclair

The Down Home Zombie Blues
Linnea Sinclair
Bantam Books
November 27, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-553-58964-1

Homicide Detective Sergeant Theo Petrakos is perplexed by the mummified corpse they’ve found. With little evidence, the odd laptop found at the scene is an important lead in unraveling the mystery of the victim. With no one else available, transporting it falls in Theo’s lap. It’s not long before he sees first hand what did the killing, but it’s a bit more difficult to swallow that the creatures aren’t from Earth. Meeting the beautiful starship Commander, Jorie Mikkalah, is an eye opening experience for Theo. He soon finds himself fighting alien zombies side-by-side with the alien team trained to eliminate them.

Commander Jorie Mikkalah is on a mission to prevent biomechanical organisms from infesting Florida to breed. She’s also fighting for a captaincy, and if she fails this mission she loses that chance. Theo Petrakos is a Nil, and while it’s against their regulations to expose their presence, Jorie sees that his police training and open mind makes him a perfect ally on Earth. As they fight the zombies and try to locate the C-Prime who controls them, their plans are interrupted by the alien Tresh. The Tresh, having their own agenda, are about to complicate matters further.

The will to survive is a strong motivator, and so are the feelings that have developed between Jorie and Theo. Time is running out to implement their plan. If they don’t act soon and destroy the C-Prime, a new herd of zombies will join the old. Their small team may not have the strength to stop them, but they’re willing to die trying.

The Down Home Zombie Blues is a sci-fi romance that may make readers wonder what could be waiting out there in space, beyond what we can see. Jorie has a mission to complete, and Theo’s just the man to help her save the planet from the zombie’s destruction. With great focus on detail, Ms. Sinclair creates an alternate world where the evils of space have spilled onto the Earth. While initially surprised at the length of this book, it was a pleasure to see how quickly the story unfolded and how easy the author made it for readers to follow along without confusion. The storyline is convincing, the world is well-built, the characters are intriguing and the romance is as sweet as it is passionate. Can’t wait to see where Ms. Sinclair takes us next.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

The Devil Inside by Jenna Black

The Devil Inside
Morgan Kingsley, Book 1
Jenna Black
Dell – Spectra
November 27, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-553-59044-9

In a world where humans offer themselves as hosts to demons, Morgan Kingsley is an exorcist. Not all demons are invited in, some are illegal and have taken over a human host without their consent. Laws are in place to protect the population against the incredible strength a demon possessed human has. When someone is killed because of one, Morgan is called in to exorcise the demon. She tries to avoid her demon loving family, especially her brother Andrew, and balances her life with Brian, the boyfriend who’s everything she wants him to be.

When Adam White, demon host and head of the Special Forces who police for rogue demons, asks Morgan to exorcise a demon from his lover, she’s obligated to perform her job. Sure that this exorcism will be burned into her memory forever, Morgan isn’t surprised when it becomes an emotional affair.

Realizing that somewhere along the line something’s gone wrong, Morgan finds her life being shared with a demon. Being in a position she would never consent to is disconcerting enough, but when her life is threatened she’s left with no choice but to follow the demon’s suggestion. A suggestion that puts her in the hands of Adam, and into the middle of an ongoing demon battle that Morgan can only hope they’re strong enough to survive.

The Devil Inside is the first book in the Morgan Kingsley series. Morgan doesn’t like demons, she exorcises them, but when she finds herself possessed by a gorgeous demon that actually seems like a decent guy, she’ll have to admit that not all of them are pure evil. With characters you can’t help but love, and those you love to hate, Ms. Black begins her new series with a storyline that’s full of action and surprises. It’s sometimes dark, often loving and completely sexy.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Tuesday, November 27, 2007

Midnight Awakening by Lara Adrian

Midnight Awakening
Midnight Breed Series, Book 3
Lara Adrian
Bantam Dell
November 27, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-553-58939-9

As the battle between the Breed vampires of the Order and the Rogues continues, Elise Chase searches for justice by killing Minions of the Rogues every chance she gets. Having lost her son just a few short months ago to Crimson, the drug that brings on Bloodlust and leaves little chance of recovery, Elise is exacting vengeance on those she holds responsible. Armed with nothing more than a dagger and a psychic ability that allows her to track those who took everything she loved, Elise finds herself in a dangerous situation. Without the knowledge to control her gift it’s slowly destroying her, and help from a powerful Breed warrior, Tegan, may be her only chance of survival.

Having lost the love of his life centuries earlier, Tegan knows the pain that the Breedmate, Elise, has endured from losing both the man she loved and the son they shared. Though he knows he’s crazy to offer his help, his need to protect Elise wins and Tegan finds himself walking the edge with the desire to take her as his own. Something much worse than the Rogues has been lurking beyond their sight, now it’s out in the world and the Breed warriors are the only hope of stopping it.

Midnight Awakening is the third book in the Midnight Breed Series. Elise is disposing of those she feels are responsible for the death of her son. Tegan knows he can’t force her away from danger, but he’s about to change her solitary life in a way that not even she can deny. It’s a difficult task to create a unique vampire romance, let alone a series, but Ms. Adrian has kept many elements of her stories fresh, fun and entertaining. This is an enjoyable adventure backed by danger, passion and a second chance at love for two lonely souls.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon - Edited by P. N. Elrod

My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon
Anthology – Edited by P. N. Elrod
St. Martin’s Griffin
December 26, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-312-37504-1

Stalked by Kelley Armstrong - Clay takes Elena on what he believes will be her idea of a special honeymoon, and ends up reaffirming his fierce reputation when they’re stalked by a mutt.

Heorot by Jim Butcher - Harry Dresden is called in to track a kidnapped young woman who just got married. What he finds waiting is a Grendelkin intent on keeping his prize.

Roman Holiday or Spq-arrrrrr by Rachel Caine - Cecilia’s marriage to Captain Liam Lockhart starts off with a near mutiny by the crew, but things turn far worse when she’s kidnapped by a pirate who believes she’s a witch.

Her Mother’s Daughter by P. N. Elrod - Dorothy Schubert hires a detective, Jack Flemming, to locate her missing husband just hours after their wedding. Dorothy’s no slouch when it comes to getting what she wants, and she won’t stop before she gets it.

Newlydeads, A Tale of Black London by Caitlin Kittredge - Jack Winter thought he’d lift Pete Caldecott’s spirits by taking her away to the comforts of a honeymoon suite, but there will be no rest with something dark waiting for them just beyond the fog.

Where the Heart Lives by Marjorie M. Liu - Lucy is forced into a job she quickly grows to love. There’s something about the woods that her employer won’t share, but it’s a secret that Lucy will soon discover first hand.

Cat Got Your Tongue? by Katie MacAlister - Raphael and Joy have taken a honeymoon at Fyfe Castle where ghosts are plentiful. They’re quickly pulled into a centuries old argument to free a spirit, but in doing so someone will be left with a curse.

Half of Being Married by Lilith Saintcrow - Kat and Mitch Black have been keeping secrets that emerge when they’re attacked by sanguine. Their honeymoon turns into work when teens turn up missing and Kat’s sure that there’s a nest nearby.

A Wulf in Groom’s Clothing by Ronda Thompson - Sam thought that marrying Laura, his soul mate, would break a family curse, but it hasn’t. Now he has to share the truth with the woman he loves and hope that she’ll truly stand by him through better or worse.

My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon is a fabulous collection of nine short stories from some of the hottest paranormal romance writers around. Each unique tale is a well-written, thoroughly engrossing visit with characters old and new. Fast, fun, and wonderfully enjoyable.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Sunday, November 25, 2007

The Remains of the Dead by Wendy Roberts

The Remains of the Dead
A Ghost Dusters Mystery, Book 1
Wendy Roberts
Obsidian – Penguin Group (USA), Inc.
December 4, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-451-22268-8

With her company, Scene-2-Clean, Sadie Novak has a job that’s disturbing to most people. Cleaning up after murders, suicides or deaths that have gone unnoticed for some time is difficult. Having lost her brother, Sadie knows that her services are a big help to the families left behind. She also has a special gift, one that she usually wishes she didn’t. Sadie can speak to the dead whose ghosts have lingered at the scene.

With Zack Bowman, an ex-cop and Sadie’s employee, they tackle a job for a grieving mother who’s having a hard time believing that her son, Grant, killed his wife and then took his own life out of guilt. Trudy, the wife’s ghost that’s stayed behind, is trying to share the truth with Sadie, but someone is out to make sure that Sadie doesn’t have a chance to figure out the facts.

A stranger shows up on Sadie’s job, and thinking he’s a ghost, Sadie dismisses him. Later, when she realizes that Kent was no ghost, she looks into his connection to the deceased couple and begins to wonder if he could have had something to do with the deaths of his friends. With the help of Maeva, a psychic who was inadvertently pulled into the mystery, Sadie draws closer to solving the case. Now the killer is more determined than ever to stop her, even if it means permanently eliminating her to do it.

The Remains of the Dead is the first installment in the Ghost Dusters Mystery series. Sadie is a strong woman who has reluctantly accepted her psychic talent and is determined to help the ghosts that look for her help. When she finds herself tracking down a murderer who’d like to see her dead, she’s thankful to have Zack at her back and a new psychic friend by her side. Ms. Roberts kicks off her series with a fabulous mystery and a charming group of characters. A well-told mystery, a healthy dose of the paranormal and a taste of potential romance will keep you guessing through the twists and turns. Remains of the Dead leaves readers eager to discover where the next visit with Sadie and her friends will lead.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Friday, November 23, 2007

AngelMonster by Veronica Bennett

Veronica Bennett
Candlewick Press
HC – May 9, 2006
ISBN# 978-0-7636-2994-6
PB – August 28, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-7636-3407-0

At the age of sixteen, Mary is filled with romantic hopes and dreams. The day she runs away with Percy Shelley she thinks those dreams have been realized. Shelley is a poet, a free spirit that has shunned society and the wife and kids he has left behind to be with Mary. Along for what the girls believe will be a wonderful adventure is Mary’s sister, Jane, who’s changed her name to Claire.

What begins as a whirlwind romance soon becomes a series of events that bring death and heartache to young Mary. The death of a child is devastating, but for Mary that nightmare has visited her several times over. A life filled with grief over her lost children is difficult, but added to that pain is the dramatic changes in Shelley’s behavior, and the need to sedate him while he recovers from his breaks with reality. Mary’s a strong girl for all that she’s endured, but when she believes that Shelley has been unfaithful, it’s a blow to their marriage that never has the chance to be resolved.

AngelMonster is a fictional account loosely based on the young life of Mary Shelley and the difficult life that eventually led to her writing Frankenstein. Ms. Bennett pens an imaginative tale of romance and heartbreak. AngelMonster is an emotional roller-coaster ride that pins you to your seat and makes it impossible to set it down. Readers will experience the joys of love, the beauty of life and the tragedy of death. This is a young adult title that is best suited to mature readers.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Opening Atlantis by Harry Turtledove

Opening Atlantis
Harry Turtledove
December 4, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-451-46174-2

Part One - New Hastings: Edward Radcliffe strikes a bargain with François Kersauzon and he soon sets foot on Atlantis for the first time. Wildlife and vegetation the likes of which they’ve never seen inhabit the island, but it appears that no one has staked a claim and called it home. Life away from England where his family could be safe is all the incentive Edward needs. The Radcliffes, as well as the others who’ve joined them, settle in to a new life. The new settlements forming aren’t a problem for the little town of New Hastings, but when the wrong person decides he’ll force his way into ruling the land, there will be a high price to pay in keeping the freedom they worked so hard to obtain.

Part Two - Avalon: Red Rodney Radcliffe captains the Black Hand out of Avalon Bay and is well known throughout Atlantis for the plundering pirate that he is. William Radcliff lives a respectable life and runs a trading firm in Stuart. Both men are descendants of Edward Radcliffe through his son Henry, but they’re as different as second cousins could possibly be. William is done with having his ships robbed, and when the opportunity presents itself he’s more than willing to even the score.

Part Three – Nouveau Redon: It’s been three-hundred years since the first settlement, New Hastings, began in Atlantis. Roland Kersauzon has gotten word that France and England are at war and he’s securing the Nouveau Redon fortress for battle, should it have to defend itself. Victor Radcliff welcomes Major General Braddock from England, and soon the war spreads to Atlantis. War torn, a changed Atlantis will be left in its wake.

Opening Atlantis is the first in a new trilogy. In an alternate history where the world has an eighth continent, Mr. Turtledove details life in the first three-hundred years since settling Atlantis. The world-building, while created with some similarity to history, is just phenomenal. The characters are well-drawn, and as the centuries pass their relation to the original settlers is easily seen. If you’re looking for the usual fantasy or paranormal tale of Atlantis, you won’t find that here between these covers. What you will find is an action packed adventure bound to intrigue any reader who dares to wonder what might have been if the world were a slightly different place.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Saturday, November 17, 2007

Winner - Happy Hour at Casa Dracula

A big thank you to everyone who stopped by to enter the contest or say hi to Marta Acosta!

The winner of a copy of Happy Hour at Casa Dracula is:


Please contact me at darquereviews @ (no spaces) with your snail mail info so we can get your new book out to you.

Congratulations PamK! If you haven't read Happy Hour at Casa Dracula, or Midnight Brunch, you're missing out on a really good time. Like Marta suggested the other day....if you're not able to get a copy of your own, then check your local library. You'll be happy you did! :)

Friday, November 16, 2007

Lynsay Sands - Book Giveaway

The wonderful folks at Avon Books - Harper Collins have sent me a set of galleys that include all three of the upcoming releases by Lynsay Sands. The Accidental Vampire, Vampires Are Forever, and Vampire Interrupted. They release the end of December, January and February. That would be pretty wonderful to have your own set to read long before they hit the shelves, right? They've also sent the promo item to go with each of the books. All you have to do is stop by and leave a comment anytime between now and November 30th to be entered to win. One winner will win all three of the books and cute promo goodies that go with them. The winner will be announced on December 1st, so be sure to stop by and see if it's you!
Don't forget to read the interview with Ms. Sands while you're here!
Good Luck, and Happy Reading! :)

Interview - Lynsay Sands

Darque Reviews welcomes Lynsay Sands:

Hi Ms. Sands, thanks so much for sharing this time with Darque Reviews! We’re looking forward to getting to know both you and your work a bit better.

Can you tell us how long you’ve been writing, and how many books you’ve had published?

LS: I could tell you but it makes me feel so oldddd. Oh all right. Actually, I’ve been writing my whole life. However, my first book was published in April 1997. As for how many books, that would be 25 full novels (14 historicals, 10 Argeneaus and 1 contemp) 3 half books and 7 anthologies.

You have three upcoming releases with Avon Books (Harper Collins). The Accidental Vampire, Vampires are Forever and Vampire Interrupted. Can you tell us a little about your Argeneau vampire family and how many books readers can expect to find in the series?

LS: When I started the Argeneaus, I needed to find a way for them to be vampires but not dead and soulless, because I couldn’t see how someone soulless could love anyone. However, I also wanted them to be like the traditional vampires in some ways. Stronger, faster, with special mental abilities, etc. I also wanted them old, because there’s just something sexy about someone so powerful and whose seen and done a lot and been around ages and ages but chooses you for a mate. I mean, they’ve met a lot of women/men and yet the hero/heroine is the chosen one. It makes it more special. Those were my requirements when I started the series and my Argeneaus were the answer I came up with. They’re old, but their vampirism is based on science rather than some curse.

The Argeneaus, themselves, are really your typical family other than being vampires. They love each other, sometimes interfere, sometimes are thoughtless, sometimes take advantage, but are always there to back each other up when the . . . er . . . stuff hits the fan.

As for how many books, even I don’t know that. I keep coming up with new situations to explore, and issues to address and so long as those keep coming, the stories will too. They will not always be Argeneaus, however. In fact, the book I just mailed in was about Mortimer, one of the enforcers.

You recently had your story Run, Run, Rudolph published in the Avon Books anthology Holidays are Hell. Can you tell us a little about that story and where you got the idea for it?

LS: Run Run Rudolph is basically a continuation of my story in Dates From Hell. Here, Jill--the sister from the first story—has become the target of her brother’s ex co-worker; an evil scientist who turns her into a shapeshifter with the intention of performing some rather horrible tests on her. She manages to escape and make it to the parade where she’s supposed to be Mrs. Claus, but her nemisis follows and she finds herself on the run with a sexy Mr. Claus, using her new abilities to try to save them both.

Can you tell us what you’re working on now, and what fans can look forward to?

LS: I literally just finished corrections on my first Historical for Avon as well as writing the next Argeneau to be released sometime next year after the three coming out in early 2008. I mailed them out yesterday, and this morning started the next historical for Avon. It’s a Scottish Medieval.

What is the most difficult part of the writing process for you?

LS: The beginning. Starting the story is always hardest. I usually haven’t got a handle on the characters yet and tend to fuss over and write and rewrite the first three or four chapters until I know who they are and what they’re like and how they’ll react to situations. After that they tend to take over and kind of tell me what to write. I know that sounds silly, but it’s just how it works for me.

You’ve written in several genres. Is one more enjoyable for you to work in?

LS: Not really, each has something to recommend it. My interest lies more with the situations and the characters than with the time period.

What genre do you enjoy reading? Who are some of your favorite authors?

LS: I love romance, but oddly enough, the first book I look for after finishing writing one of my stories (I never read while writing a book) is a horror. And my favorite author is Dean Koontz.

Have any authors been an influence to your writing?

LS: That’s a hard question. I don’t really know if I’ve ever been influenced by a writer, or just books in general. At least, I can’t pinpoint a certain book or writer who influenced me. I was writing in grade school, before I had actually decided what I liked to read, maybe even before I became a voracious reader. I sometimes think I was just born a writer, and rather than being influenced by another writer, it was probably a grade school English teacher, Mr. Brady, who influenced me the most. He used to assign us a story every Friday. It was “Write a one page story about such-and-such.” That story was to be collected the next Friday. However, the first time this happened, I went to him the following week and explained my story was fourteen pages long, but just wasn’t done yet.” I can still remember his expression as he dropped his pencil on the desk. After a hesitation, he said, “Well, then your assignment is to continue on with it and hand it in next week.” But it was thirty pages long and not done the next week, and so on. Most of my stories ended up being action adventures about 60 to 90 pages long that year and taking four or five weeks to write and he allowed it.

On parent teacher night, he pulled my mother aside and told her, “If you encourage this girl the least little bit, she’ll be published one day.” I really think his encouraging my creativity as well as giving me the freedom to not follow either the one page guideline or even his suggestions for what to write about is the reason I’m a writer today. That and the fact that my mother listened to him and did encourage me.

Did you have an interest in vampires before beginning your Argeneau series?

LS: Not at all, LOL. In fact, this series is all the fault of a writer friend of mine. I never even considered doing vamps until she suggested we do a vampire anthology together with another friend. I laughed and said, “Oh no! If I did a vamp they’d have to faint at the sight of blood or something silly like that.” The ideas I tossed out that night stuck with me and just wouldn’t go away until I sat down and started writing them. The Argeneaus are the result.

What do you do to unwind in your free time?

LS: I love to read which shouldn’t be surprising. I also love movies, painting and renovating our old house and long bubble baths, especially with a book and a glass of wine.

Is there anything else you’d like to share with readers or aspiring writers before we go?

LS: Just to thank them. They are the reason I get to do what I do.

Thank you so much for spending some time with Darque Reviews and for giving us a peek into your writing world. It’s been a pleasure having you!

Kimberly Swan,
Darque Reviews

Please visit Lynsay Sands website here:

Avon – Harper Collins can be found here:

Vampire, Interrupted by Lynsay Sands

Vampire, Interrupted
Argeneau Series, Book 9
Lynsay Sands
Avon Books – Harper Collins
February 26, 2008
ISBN# 978-0-06-122977-0

Marguerite Argeneau had a miserable life with her late husband, Jean Claude. He was controlling and cruel to the point of her only joy being their children. Marguerite thinks that time in her life is behind her, but someone has other plans for her future.

When the opportunity arises for Marguerite to take on a job as a PI, she teams up with Tiny for their first case together. What starts out as tracking down Christian Notte’s birthmother becomes a complicated search into the past. When Christian’s father, Julius, joins their group, a centuries old secret is revealed.

Christian is desperate to learn his mother’s identity, but Julius has refused to provide any information. It’s a time from his life that Julius prefers not to revisit. He lost the love of his life, his lifemate. It’s been centuries since he had any interest in courting a woman, but with his son’s help, Julius isn’t about to let Marguerite slip through his fingers. In order to keep her he’ll have to share the truth of the past and put an end to Christian’s search. When the facts are revealed, the shocking reality may be too much to bear.

Vampire, Interrupted is the ninth book in the Argeneau series. The last thing Marguerite wants in her life is a man, but Julius Notte is not easily put off. In the midst of blossoming romance, the Argeneau family is about to learn a secret that someone is willing to kill to protect. With a fast-paced and creative storyline, Ms. Sands dazzles readers with a fascinating thrill ride of danger packed action and chemistry that won’t be denied. This is a touching story of second chances at love, and starting over.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Vampires Are Forever by Lynsay Sands

Vampires Are Forever
Argeneau Series, Book 8
Lynsay Sands
Avon Books – Harper Collins
January 29, 2008
ISBN# 978-0-06-122969-5

Woken before the crack of dawn to pick-up Thomas Argeneau from the airport is not Inez Urso’s idea of starting a good day. To make matters worse, Thomas leaves the airport without her. When she catches up to him in his hotel room she has plenty to say. It’s too bad that Thomas doesn’t understand Portuguese, because few of her angry words are in English. Still, the woman fascinates him from the moment he opens the door.

Marguerite Argeneau has gone missing and her family is in a panic. Thomas has been sent to England to track down his aunt from her last known whereabouts, and Bastien has sent one of his employees, Inez, to help. When Thomas realizes he has no blood, Bastien suggests he drink from Inez and then wipe her memory. From there it gets progressively more difficult. Someone wants them out of the picture, and they have no qualms in killing them if need be. Their search for Aunt Marguerite isn’t turning out to be very successful. If help doesn’t arrive soon, Thomas and Inez may not live long enough to unravel the mystery.

Vampires Are Forever is the eighth book in the Argeneau series. Inez has no intention of falling for a handsome man’s charms, but Thomas has waited centuries for her and he’s not about to let her go now. With the right mix of elements, Ms. Sands provides a compelling story of suspense, mystery and danger that will keep readers guessing. The well-written characters are engaging, and the romance that develops will leave you craving more of this author’s passionate tales of vampire lifemates.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

The Accidental Vampire by Lynsay Sands

The Accidental Vampire
Argeneau Series, Book 7
Lynsay Sands
Avon Books – Harper Collins
December 26, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-06-122968-8

When Elvi Black’s friends decide that she needs someone who can be with her forever, they take out a personal add looking for a male vampire. The Council gets wind of it and Victor Argeneau is sent as an enforcer to investigate. He and five others answer the ad. A few are quickly eliminated, but most remain. Victor’s week long visit with Elvi turns into far more than a job for the Council.

A trip to Mexico with her best friend Mabel changed Elvi’s life, and since her return Port Henry has never been the same. The town has been very accepting of the new Elvi, but it seems she knows little about being a vampire. As far as she’s concerned she has no sire, because an accident turned her. Just about the time that her friends arrange for her to meet men of the fanged variety, Elvi finds herself in danger. Someone is out to end her life, and her new suitors could be her only hope of surviving.

The Accidental Vampire is the seventh book in the Argeneau series. Elvi has no idea how to act as a vampire, but she managed to do well enough before Victor entered her life. Now, with his help, Elvi is about to have a crash course in living life as an immortal. Ms. Sands pens a delightful tale filled with tension, passion and more than a bit of comedy. This is a vampire romance that manages to be both humorous and sexy at just the right moments.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

Happy Hour at Casa Dracula - Book Giveaway

Have you read Happy Hour at Casa Dracula by Marta Acosta? If not, now is your chance to win a copy of your own! All you need to do is leave a comment on this post any time between now and midnight Friday (November 16th). If you can also tell us the name of Marta's next book in the Casa Dracula series your name will be entered twice and you'll double your chance to win. Here's a hint: Scroll down and read Marta's interview.
Please be sure to check back on November 17th when the winner will be announced.
Good luck, and happy reading!

Interview - Marta Acosta

Darque Reviews welcomes Marta Acosta!

Hi Ms. Acosta, thanks so much for sharing this time with Darque Reviews!
We’re excited to learn more about you and your work.

To begin, can you tell us how you found yourself on the path to becoming an author? Was writing a profession that you chose, or did it choose you?

MA: I've always written, and I think writers don't really have a choice. It's what we do. We scribble in class, we send notes to friends, we write letters, and we dream up stories. Now the tough part was finding a way to get paid for writing. It's not as if you leave college with a degree in creative writing and walk right into a well-paid job as a novelist. My jobs usually had a writing component. While writing a press release isn't the same as writing fiction, business writing is still writing. I also wrote for fun, silly things to amuse myself and my friends, and I write freelance columns and articles.

My first attempt at a novel was a dark thriller. Editors liked it but said that it was too dark and "unmarketable." A few years later, I came up with the idea for a comic novel with vampires. I'd always written humor, so I don't know why I didn't think of writing a funny novel earlier. I probably didn't think it counted as "serious" writing.

You have a great series being published by Pocket Books. Can you tell us a bit about Happy Hour at Casa Dracula and Midnight Brunch?

MA: I say that these books are basically: vampires, margaritas, mayhem. Milagro de Los Santos is a young woman who lacks a decent income, real direction in life, and a worthwhile relationship, but she's funny, sexy, good-natured, and she's got a degree from a Fancy University (F.U.). After an encounter with an attractive man named Oswald, she becomes very ill and begins craving raw meat. She's kidnapped by an extremist group and then rescued by Oswald's family. The family has a genetic autosomal condition that makes them susceptible to sunlight. Oh, they also drink animal blood, and many people would call them vampires. The books cover Milagro's adventures with these people, their allies, and their enemies. Milagro is a "freak magnet," so she's always attracting eccentric new acquaintances.

What are you working on now? What can readers look forward to this coming year?

MA: I've just handed in the manuscript for the third book in the series, The Bride of Casa Dracula, which will be released in September 2008. Happy Hour at Casa Dracula comes out in mass market paperback in 2008. Right now I'm working on a gothic novel for young adults. It's dark (yeah, I've gone back to that), and the heroine is an orphan who is accepted into an elite, but mysterious all-girls prep school. I like stories about outsiders who must figure out how to live in society without compromising too much of their own identity.

Milagro de Los Santos has such a unique name, one with great meaning. Can you tell us how you came up with it, and how her story developed?

MA: I was trying to think of a silly name that had some significance, and "miracle of the saints" fit those requirements. Milagro manages to survive every situation and people are always telling her, "I thought you'd be dead!" She must also endure endless jokes about her name.

How many novels do you have planned for the Casa Dracula series?

MA: Oh, I'm totally flexible on this. I wrote the first novel as a single-title, and my editor liked the characters so much, she asked for two more. I'd be happy writing them as long as readers are happy reading them. I'm so fond of many of the characters that I have a problem limiting them so they don't clutter up the plot.

It was such a pleasant surprise to find that there is so much humor in your writing. Had you set out to write that way, or did your characters lead you in that direction?

MA: The comic situation came before the characters: what if you threw a poor, but smart and sexy young Latina in with a bunch of snobby, rich vampires? I wanted to spoof angsty vampires who spend 200 years longing for one woman. Please. Like a guy would wait that long. As some great philosopher once wrote, "If you can't be with the one you love, love the one you're with."

The snarky grandmother, Edna, came to me fully-formed. I always know just what Edna will say. Milagro is a different story. I'm cynical, but she's not. Many times, I return to a scene and re-write Milagro's reaction so that it is something unexpected, yet true to her character. Her optimism sometimes comes out as cluelessness, but young people (and not so young people) are often clueless. I didn't want a heroine who was always right, yawn, and always good. I wanted someone who made mistakes, acted impusively, and had a prediliction to have fun.

Do you set aside a specific time for your writing each day?

MA: I keep to a fairly dull and regular schedule, sitting down at my computer in the morning and working until late afternoon. If I've got a deadline, I'll work around the clock. Unlike a regular job, you never really leave your writing. It's always there.

What genre do you enjoy reading when time allows? Do you have any favorite authors?

MA: I'll read anything, and I let my mood determine my reading. Sometimes I want a really twisted British mystery and sometimes I want an urbane comedy of manners. I may pick up a sci-fi novel, or a big, ole historical novel. I frequently turn to humor. A visit to the bookstore takes me forever because I'll wander into a dozen sections.

My favorite writers are all dead: Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, Henry James, Evelyn Waugh, Mark Twain, and P.G. Wodehouse.

I have to mention your Vampire Wire blog! You keep us updated on the hottest books, movies and T.V. in the paranormal genre. Can you tell us how that began?

MA: I have a great time on Vampire Wire, and thanks for mentioning it! Although I've always been a fan of paranormal entertainment, I never considered myself a "vampire novelist" -- but that's the label I get. So in order to reach out to other paranormal entertainment fans, I came up with the idea of a "one-stop shop" for links to reviews, interviews, and news about paranormal fiction, movies, and television shows. One of my favorite things about the site is that I get to promote other writers and bloggers.

When you find yourself with some free time, what do enjoy doing?

MA: I spend time with my family and friends, read, go to movies, and I'm a zealous gardener. I often write gardening articles, and I'm always at the speciality nurseries, talking with professionals, and spending too much money on plants. My dog passed away last week, but my mornings were always spent at the local dog park, walking by the bay while he dashed through the fields. I'll get another dog soon.

Before we go, is there anything else you’d like to share with readers or aspiring writers?

MA: To my readers, I'd like to say thanks for all the support! It's so encouraging to receive an email from someone who's enjoyed my books. To writers, my advice is not to get discouraged or impatient.

It’s always a pleasure Marta, thanks so much for joining us and sharing your time!

MA: Thanks, Kimberly, for having me! Darque Reviews is one of my favorite blogs and I'm amazed at all your reviews.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Please visit Marta Acosta’s web residence here:

You can stop by her blog here:

Don’t forget to check out Vampire Wire here:

Monday, November 12, 2007

White Fells by R. Garland Gray

White Fells
Faery Faith Series, Book III
R. Garland Gray
Medallion Press, Inc.
December 1, 2007
ISBN# 978-1933836-19-5

Known as the Wind Herald of the Tuatha Dé Dannan, Boyden is a descendant of the Wind King. That’s a part of his life he’d prefer not to acknowledge, but the olden death goddess, Gaoth Shee, never lets him forget. When Lord Amergin and his people invade their lands, Boyden meets Scota, the princess who travels with him. Though he fights the attraction to his enemy, his heart has other plans.

When Scota finds their ship’s captain, Rigoberto, abusing a captive, she steps in to save him from what she’s sure will end in his death. Boyden is a beautiful man, but Scota doesn’t believe in the fey born until she witnesses that which has no other explanation. In an effort to prevent more unnecessary bloodshed, Scota and Boyden team-up to resolve the differences between their people. That may actually be an easier task than finding peace among the fey for their uneasy union.

White Fells is the third book in the Faery Faith Series and can also be read as a stand-alone. When the Wind King finds a princess destined to be his queen, he’ll stop at nothing to ensure their future together. Ms. Gray builds a world filled with the beauty and magic of the fey that’s plunged into the unexpected danger and turmoil of battle. An enchanting fantasy where there’s mayhem at every turn, and a searing passion that won’t be denied.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Sunday, November 11, 2007

Sex & the Immortal Bad Boy by Stephanie Rowe

Sex & the Immortal Bad Boy
Immortally Sexy, Book 4
Stephanie Rowe
Forever – Grand Central Publishing
November 1, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-446-61902-8

As a Rivka free of Satan, Paige Darlington currently has just one goal. She needs to take a swim in Heaven’s cleansing moat to clean-up her tainted soul, but the odds of them letting her in are slim to none. It seems that Satan has given Paige a parting gift that causes her touch to destroy anyone who isn’t quite evil. She’s rapidly turning into a wraith, and if she isn’t able to find a cure soon she’ll become an unstoppable weapon.

Jed Buchanan is a shadow warrior working for Satan Jr. and has been sent for Paige. His brother Rafi is stuck in the afterlife and is being ripped apart by the call of a retiring warrior. If Jed can convince Paige that he loves her and bring her over to Satan Jr.’s side, then he can get the help he needs to save Rafi. Problem is that after spending time with the high spirited Paige he’s developed feelings for her. When it comes down to a choice of saving his only brother or the woman who has brought new feeling to his life of darkness, Jed will make the hardest decision of his cursed existence.

Sex & the Immortal Bad Boy is the fourth book in the Immortally Sexy series and easily read as a stand-alone. Paige has a serious dilemma, but with Jed by her side she’s not about to give-up hope. Ms. Rowe spins a tale of the never-ending battle between good and evil and adds a wonderfully humorous power struggle over ruling hell. Satan Jr. wants what his father has and will stop at nothing to get it, but dear old Dad, while proud of his son’s efforts, is not about to let that happen. With sizzling chemistry, witty dialogue, and plenty of action to keep readers fully engaged, this is a paranormal romance sure to entertain.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Thursday, November 8, 2007

Interview - Jeanne C. Stein

Darque Reviews welcomes paranormal romance writer, Jeanne C. Stein.

Ms. Stein, thanks so much for sharing this time with Darque Reviews! We’re looking forward to getting to know a bit more about you and The Anna Strong Chronicles.

JS: Thank you. It’s an honor to be asked. Your support to the writing community is a wonderful thing.

Can you tell us what drew you to writing, and was being an author the path you thought you’d choose for your future?

JS: I always loved to write—but I didn’t pursue it seriously until I moved to Colorado from San Diego ten years ago. That’s when I quit a full time day job to give the writing life a serious try. In Denver, I was lucky enough to connect with the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers organization. I joined a critique group and learned while I could always tell a story, I had a lot to learn about writing one. I’m still in a critique group and still learning.

The Anna Strong Chronicles is certainly a favorite series among paranormal romance readers. Can you tell us a little about The Becoming and Blood Drive? Where did the idea for the series come from?

JS: The series began as a straight mystery about a bounty hunting duo with the title Fair Game. It wasn’t until I met an editor of a small Colorado press who mentioned she was looking for vampire stories, that the idea to turn it into something else took hold. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it myself years before! I’ve always loved the genre. Once I started the series, I found they were the easiest books to write and by far, the most fun. The Becoming and Blood Drive were published first by ImaJinn Books, then picked up by Ace.

You must be as excited as the rest of us that The Watcher, the third book in the series, is getting ready to release from Ace Books in November. Can you tell us how many more books you have planned for Anna Strong?

JS: I hope to be able to write many, many more. Anna has a lot of stories to tell. I have signed a contract for the fourth and fifth books. In fact, book four, The Legacy, is completed and scheduled for publication next year.

What are you working on now? Do you have other projects in mind for the future?

JS: I’m about to start the fifth book. I do have other projects in mind (one involving a character in the story The Witch and The Wicked, which I see you have a question about so I’ll wait to answer.)

Do you work on more than one project, or do you prefer to focus on one at a time?

JS: I prefer to focus on one at a time. I’m learning, however, that it’s not always possible. I’d like to do at least one more book a year as well as one or two short stories. I so admire writers who can do two or three or four books a year. I’m not sure I’m that clever, but I do want to try my hand at new things.

You have a great short story titled The Witch and the Wicked in the recently released Many Bloody Returns anthology. Sophie is quite different than Anna, was it difficult to switch gears and develop Sophie’s character?

JS: Sophie was so much fun! The theme of the book, vampires and birthdays, was wide open. I have a witch, Belinda Burke, in The Watcher and originally thought I might want to reprise her. But she’s on the dark side of the force and the story I had in mind called for a lighter touch. I invented Sophie, who is Belinda’s sister—a good witch. She is a caterer to the supernatural community who also cooks up her own cosmetics on the side. When something happens at a vamp’s birthday party she’s catering, she suddenly has an idea for an anti-aging cream that not only stops the ageing process, but reverses it. I’ve had emails from readers saying Sophie needs a book of her own and I’m seriously considering it. Sophie will appear in the fifth Anna Strong book though.

Do you have a particular time of day that you set aside specifically to write?

JS: I write mostly in the morning. I’m an early riser. I’m generally at my computer by 5:30 or 6, work until 11, take a lunch break, work until 4. Of course, there’s always marketing interspersed with the actual writing. Email, blogs, travel to plan, etc etc. When I’m on deadline, I set a goal for myself of at least five pages a day. Weekends are not so structured, but I do try to write on Saturday and Sunday, too.

What genre do you enjoy reading? Who are some of your favorite authors and have they influenced your own writing in any way?

JS: I was just asked that very question by my editor for a spot on Penguin’s Sci/Fi Fantasy page! I have to say, Joss Whedon is the biggest influence. He is truly a master of dialogue and characterization. He’s the kind of writer I aspire to be. Then, in no particular order: Robert B. Parker (another master of dialogue); Sara Paretsky (V.I. was the first kick-ass female protagonist I ever read); Laurell K Hamilton (who really launched Urban Fantasy); J. K. Rowling (two words: Harry Potter); my critique partner, Mario Acevedo (though I always tease him because he won't write a REAL sex scene); newcomers Richelle Mead and Jackie Kessler. My top favorite Fantasy author: Charlaine Harris. Her Sookie books brought vampires out of the dark realm of evil and gave them a gentler face.
There are many more, but those are the top of the list.

Like most any job I would imagine that there are some days that are just harder to get work done. What do you do to unwind and get back into writing your story?

JS: I go to the gym three days a week for kickboxing classes. Believe me, punching and kicking a bag does wonders for stress. I take short walks in between class days. I’ve found that if I’m having trouble, physical activity that takes my mind off the problem does more to help me figure it out than staring at the computer and waiting for inspiration to strike. That old subconscious is a tricky but wonderful thing!

Is there anything else you’d like to share with readers before we say goodbye?

JS: Just thank you. Every time I walk into a bookstore and see my books on the shelf, or receive an email from a reader who loves Anna as much as I do, or can offer help to aspiring writers, I realize how lucky I am to have been given the opportunity to realize my dream. It’s all because of readers. I will never take you or your gift to me for granted.

It’s been a pleasure. Thanks so much for joining us and giving us a peek into your world!

JS: Thank you, Kimberly. Your support is appreciated more than I can say.

PS Great website!

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Please visit Ms. Stein on her website, here:

And stop by her blog here:

The Watcher by Jeanne C. Stein

The Watcher
An Anna Strong, Vampire Novel, Book 3
Jeanne C. Stein
Ace Books – Penguin Group, USA
November 27, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-441-01546-7

When a bounty pick-up went wrong, Anna Strong became a vampire. That’s something she’d prefer that her partner, David Ryan, will never realize. Bounty hunting is a part of Anna’s human life that she hasn’t been willing to give up. She’s been encouraged by Warren Williams, San Diego’s chief of police, to take on a new job as a Watcher. Williams is an old vampire, and Anna is doing her best to keep the peace with him, but it doesn’t take long for her to discover that policing the vampires and being ordered to destroy them for intolerable crimes isn’t really a job she’s comfortable with.

Someone is sending Anna threatening messages and referring to her boyfriend. Thinking it has to do with Max’s DEA undercover work, and the man Martinez whose operation he infiltrated, Anna is sure that it’s connected to the FBI agent, Foley, who has suddenly appeared asking questions. Foley is claiming that Max has gone rogue, but Anna is sure there’s more going on. When she heads over the border to Beso de la Muerte to see Culebra, a shape-shifter that provides her with willing blood donors, her fears are soon confirmed.

A powerful witch has plans to unleash a demon, Max’s life is being threatened by a madman, and Culebra is missing. Time is running out, and Anna may be their only hope.

The Watcher is the third installment in the Anna Strong, Vampire series. Anna’s new life as a vampire grows more complicated by the day, but this sassy heroine has no intention of slowing down or giving up, especially when it comes to the safety of the people she cares about. Ms. Stein dazzles readers with action-packed paranormal adventure, love and friendship. With many wonderfully executed twists and turns, this author’s suspenseful writing will hold readers spellbound until the very end.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Monday, November 5, 2007

Betrayed by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast

House of Night, Book 2
P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast
St. Martin’s Griffin
October 2, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-312-36028-3

Settling into her new life as a fledgling at the House of Night hasn’t been easy for Zoey Redbird, but when she became the leader of the Dark Daughters and Sons she felt like she belonged. The Goddess Nyx has blessed her, and she’s gained close friends in the short time since she first arrived, but there’s still a part of her that is attached to her past. With her ex-boyfriend, Heath, still wanting to maintain their relationship, Zoey fears that she has accidentally Imprinted with him. Tasting Heath’s blood was forbidden, and now they both may be paying the price.

When local high school students begin turning up dead, the House of Night is the first place the police look for answers. It seems that the bodies appear to have been attacked and drained of blood, and the vampyres are at the top of the suspect list. The fact that Zoey went to school with them makes it much more personal for her.

Just as she thinks that life can’t get any more complicated, another fledgling is lost and the dreams Zoey is having lead her to believe that there is more to their deaths than Neferet is telling. As their High Priestess, and Zoey’s mentor, Neferet is the one person she should have been able to talk to about anything that was bothering her. Things are changing and Zoey’s not so sure who to trust, but her friends believe in her and their unwavering trust will give her the strength she needs. She just hopes that their gifts will be enough to withstand the darkness closing in on the House of Night.

Betrayed is the second installment in the young adult House of Night series. Zoey Redbird is in the midst of her change from human to vampyre, and doing her best to deal with the transformation taking place. Being a teen is never easy, but for Zoey the choices she makes has an affect on everyone around her, and that makes hers a very difficult position to be in. Having read Marked, and now Betrayed, it’s obvious that P.C. and Kristin Cast make a fantastic writing team. This enchanting tale is filled with non-stop action, strong friendships, and sweet blossoming romance. Whether you’re a teen or an adult who loves a great paranormal read, this is a series not to be missed.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Sunday, November 4, 2007

Reserved for the Cat by Mercedes Lackey

Reserved for the Cat
Elemental Masters, Book 5
Mercedes Lackey
DAW Books
October 30, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-7564-0362-1

Growing up with only her mother in Montmartre, there were few options open for Ninette Dupond’s future, and ballet was one of the best places to be seen. At her mother’s encouragement, Ninette became a soloist ballet dancer. Her goal was not of becoming a star; it was merely that of capturing the notice of a rich older gentleman. When an act of jealousy destroys her chances in the ballets of Paris, Ninette find herself in desperate need of employment.

Thomas, an Elemental Master in the form of a cat, comes to Ninette’s rescue when he whisks her away to Blackpool, England to start anew. It’s soon apparent that Ninette is in jeopardy, but discovering the source of the threat is more than Thomas can handle on his own. Only with the help of other Elemental Masters do they stand a chance against the menacing danger that has set its sights on the young woman they’ve all vowed to protect.

Reserved for the Cat is the fifth installment in the Elemental Masters series. With a push in the right direction, Ninette has the strength to stand up and face whatever is thrown her way. Ms. Lackey is a master in fantasy, and this visit to an alternate historical England is no exception. Vivid characterization and believable surroundings are flawlessly joined in a well-detailed world. Though part of a series, Reserved for the Cat can easily be read as a stand alone.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Saturday, November 3, 2007

Cimmerian City by Rae Lindley

Cimmerian City
Cimmerian Series, Book 1
Rae Lindley
Lavender Isis Press
October 10, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-9793674-7-2

On the night she and her boyfriend are brutally attacked, Raven Blackheart asks for death. What she gets instead is ten years unconscious and a future as a hybrid, trapped between two races. Raven has been infected by the Dracins that attacked her and killed Jack a decade ago, and she now has the thirst that comes with it.

Kept alive and trained by the Tech Corporation, Raven could be a bridge between humans and Dracins, but Tyler Deamond has his own plans. War is brewing and Raven may have to choose a side, but for now she’s working to survive long enough to fight another day.

Cimmerian City is the first book in the Cimmerian series. Raven Blackheart is strong and sassy, she’s a survivor. Ms. Lindley pens a fast-paced and creative tale that brings readers up to speed on the unexpected changes found in her 2010. Filled with action, adventure and the possibility of future romance, this is a great start to a new and intriguing series. Readers will be eagerly awaiting the second installment.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Friday, November 2, 2007

Wizards, Inc. - Edited by M. Greenberg & L. Coleman

Wizards, Inc
Edited by Martin H. Greenberg & Loren L. Coleman
DAW – Penguin Group, USA
November 6, 2007
ISBN# 978-0-7564-0439-0

Jamaica by Orson Scott Card: Jam finds himself the pawn in a power struggle between The Emperor of the Air and his followers who would do anything for power.

Audition by Steve Perry: When Will Preston is sent to find out who is behind trying to destroy one of his boss’s mills, what he discovers is a talented and beautiful woman.

Back Door Magic by Phaedra M. Weldon: When an injured man shows up looking for help, Brenda learns that she has a valuable talent she never knew she had.

Occupational Hazard by Mike Resnick: Harry the Book takes on a new partner in order to avoid another deal gone wrong, and finds himself rethinking his end in the business.

Ties that Bind by Annie Reed: When her father died, Nell took over the company with his old partner Gris. Now the same evil that took her father’s life is out to get theirs.

Hostile Takeover by Nina Kiriki Hoffman: Terry finds Gareth, a young witch whose gifts have been muted with a spell, and she plans to help him open up to those powers.

A Different Way into the Life by Jay Lake: A wizard realizes there’s more to the young woman she’s searching for, and sets out to use her skills to unravel the mystery.

Disaster Relief by Kristine Kathryn Rusch: In the aftermath of hurricane Katrina, Winston uses his talent to locate an acquaintance and ends up doing a very good deed.

Kidpro by Laura Anne Gilman: It’s Richard’s thirteenth birthday, and he’s not nearly as excited as he should be. Life working magic for Kidpro is about to change in a big way.

Stocks and Bondage by Esther M. Friesner: Kurlian signs a contract that magically changes afterwards, and finds himself in a position that could ruin his future forever.

The Keeper of the Morals by Dean Wesley Smith: Nearly at the top of the corporate ladder, James realizes that his morals have disappeared, but he knows where to find them.

Cosmic Balances Inc. by Kristine Grayson: Grint missed a blessing that gave a cursed man a spot in line at the Pearly Gates, now he has to right the wrong before it’s too late.

Theobroma by Diane Duane: Ken’s assignment to find a replacement employee for a chocolate shop turns into a search for a lost xocolotl.

Chocolate Alchemy by Lisa Silverthorne: Orriana is afraid that Doug will do anything to talk her into franchising her shop. The wrong spelled chocolate could change her mind.

No Rest for the Wicked by Michael A. Stackpole: Trick Molloy is being framed for a crime he didn’t commit, and it comes down to the love of the woman pulling the strings.

Wizards, Inc. is an anthology of fifteen short stories filled with magical mischief. From wizards and witches to elves and goblins, each author tells a tale of power and adds their own brand of mystery, suspense and romance to the strong mix of fantasy. Each story is wonderfully unique and as enchanting as the next.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews

Thursday, November 1, 2007

Tantalize - Contest Winners!

Hi Everyone! Thanks so much for stopping by yesterday and sharing your Halloween and favorite reads. My wish list has grown, of course. *grin*

Everyone's names went into a hat this morning, most of them twice, and 2 were picked. :) The winners are:



If you'd contact me at darquereviews @ gmail .com (without the spaces) with your snail mail information, I'll be happy to get these wonderful books out to you!

Thanks again...hope your Halloween was all you wanted it to be!