Sunday, January 27, 2008

The Outlaw Demon Wails by Kim Harrison

The Outlaw Demon Wails
Rachel Morgan, Book 6
Kim Harrison
February 26, 2008
ISBN# 978-0-06-078870-4

Rachel Morgan is still reeling from a devastating loss and trying to come to terms with the part she feels she played in it. With a killer on the loose, and no memory of the murder, Rachel and her partners, Ivy and Jenks, have made little progress in solving the crime.

With life changing all around her, Rachel learns that her mother has a secret that will both shock and disappoint her. Her elfin friend, Cerdiwen, has a surprise of her own, one that will lead Rachel to jump to the wrong conclusions. Cincinnati has a new master in their city, Rynn Cormel. The master vampire has taken a special interest in Rachel and her relationship with Ivy, but with Trent Kalamack manipulating her to cross the lines into the ever-after to retrieve something he needs, Rynn Cormel is an issue that will have to wait.

In his constant pursuit of Rachel, Al discovers a whole new way to torment her. In order to protect the family and friends she cares so deeply about, Rachel agrees to Al’s plans. Their relationship is about to move to a new level.

The Outlaw Demon Wails is the sixth book in the Rachel Morgan series. Rachel’s talents have continued to grow and with it the danger she attracts has grown as well. She’s about to be put in a position that she never saw coming, but it could hold the answers to lifelong questions and the key to unlocking more power than she ever dreamed possible. It’s a risk she’s willing to take. Ms. Harrison works her magic and delivers a new danger filled tale sure to captivate readers. The storyline touches on the possibility of a future romance, but it’s the well kept secrets being revealed that fuel this fabulous addition to life in the Hallows. While the ending in the previous installment was shocking, readers will be surprised to find that the climax in The Outlaw Demon Wails will take the heroine’s future in a whole new direction that will have fans counting down to the next release.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews


Anonymous said...

I feel lost with this series. I haven't kept up on it and only really remember reading two books (1 & 5 ?). I think it's time for me to begin with book one and read up so that I can read this book. Great review.

Wendy said...

Dear sweet Kimberly,

It is official. I. Hate. You.

There's nothing I need to say because *sniffles* I don't want to get emotional.. But it was a great review, I'll give you that.

Now I need to go back to class.

Kimberly Swan said...

SCooper - I can really see this series being one you'd like. You should definitely read them in order to really appreciate it. Thank you...this one has another surpise ending too! :)

Wendy - Oh you know you don't mean it. lol It's a good one that you can't miss. :) Have a good day!

Wendy said...

LOL, alright I don't. I can't hate someone who actually gets my rather sick sense of humor. :) I can't wait to read it!

Thanks! I'm having a good day, mostly because we rotated instructors (for like the million time) and this one is unbelieably laid-back so we have more freedom to move around and such. Hope you're having a good day too! :)

Anonymous said...

I looked up the different books and I know that I read the first three books (not five), but damn if I can remember more than the first book and a half.

Kimberly Swan said...

Wendy - See, I knew it! lol Yep, you are my daily dose of giggles. :) Sounds like you had a great day too, it's about time!

SCooper - Pick it up halfway through book 2 and I bet you'll recognize the characters and where it's at in Rachel's life at that point. Book 5 (For a Few Demons More) is the most emotional. Book 6 (The Outlaw Demon Wails) answers a lot of questions from the earlier books and has a bit of a surprise ending.