Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Blood Noir by Laurell K. Hamilton

Blood Noir
Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Book 16
Laurell K. Hamilton
May 27, 2008
ISBN# 978-0-425-22219-5

Anita Blake is a necromancer, Federal Marshall for vampire executions, and the human servant to Master of the City of St. Louis, Jean-Claude. When Jason, Jean-Claude’s pomme de sang, asks Anita for a favor she convinces herself it’s the right thing to do. Afraid of flying, and less than thrilled to be meeting Jason’s family under less than truthful circumstances, Anita says goodbye to Nathaniel and Micah, her live-in boyfriends, and accompanies Jason home. What might have been an emotionally difficult trip for Jason turns into a life threatening time for them both.

Jason Schuyler is a werewolf and has not seen his father in several years. His father is now dying and Jason is returning home to make one final effort in smoothing things out before his death. What he hadn’t known when arranging their trip was that his cousin, Keith Summerland, is getting married during the same time he’ll be in town. The problem is that Jason looks so much like Keith and his twin brother that he’s immediately mistaken for him and has the press hounding him and Anita from the time they touch down. If that weren’t enough, it seems that his cousin has gotten himself into a very bad situation with the vampires, who also mistake Jason as the culprit.

Marmee Noir is waking, and the power Anita holds within her is like a magnet to the Mother of all Darkness. A trip that had already turned life threatening is about to take an even darker turn when Anita finds herself fighting an unseen battle to survive.

This is the sixteenth installment in the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series. Blood Noir centers on an out-of-town trip where Anita accompanies Jason to make peace with his dying father. The action is a plentiful mix of human and supernatural that leaves little time to lose interest. Sex is a part of the overall storyline, because without feeding the ardeur Anita won’t survive. Ms. Hamilton adds detail to a charming character by giving readers a look into his past, and takes her heroine a step further with her battle against powerful dark forces. A must read for fans of the series, especially those fans who want to learn more about Jason. If you’re new to this series you should really start at the beginning. If you’re squeamish about explicit sex scenes then take a pass on this series rather than torturing yourself with such delicious detail.

Kimberly Swan, Darque Reviews


scooper said...

It seems only yesterday that this series debuted. I can't believe there are 16 of them. One day I'll read the 14 that I missed. :)

Kimberly Swan said...

Hi SCooper - You have a lot of catching up to do! :)